Tips for the “New” New Yorker: Investing in Some Quality Footwear

My summer Keds, oh how comfortable!

We all have done it – buying a pair of Old Navy flip flops or those slip-on shoes from Urban Outfitters. No, don’t be ashamed, you can freely admit it, for I am just as much at fault. (Really, flats for less than 20 bucks? Of course.) I have fallen for the cheap footwear trick time and time again, thinking that buying a bunch of cheap jelly sandals are somehow better than investing in something quality. Yet, after the endless blisters, some horrible bruises and even a broken flip flop gone awry on Sixth Avenue, I am here to say, “I now pay for shoes.”

Those of you who come from the suburbs or just aren’t use to walking, you are in for a surprise. New York is a walking dream, but for the beginners it’s a nightmare. It’s getting into that stride, that fast paced New Yorker stride – the one that can handle five miles easily (I mean every day easily). With walking comes the necessity of the comfortable walking shoe, and preferably one with some sort of sole and arch support.  Personally, I love my Penny Loafers; they are comfortable, a bit dressier than sneakers and they still provide me with some support while standing for six hours in a drawing class. When it gets a bitter colder, I generally switch to some Doc Marten’s boots because they have an amazing sole to fight the slick New York City sidewalks and they also mold to your feet.

But it’s taken me three years to realize this and to pick companies that I like and trust. So before you make the big move, re-evaluate what type of footwear you may be bringing. Yeah, those pair of heels may be adorable, but they also come with an expensive cab ride home and a whole lot of blisters. Don’t fall for an uncomfortable shoe, but if you do be sure to pack a box of band-aids!

About Katie

Hi there y'all! My name is Katie and I am an Admissions Counselor here at Parsons. I am a recent graduate of Parsons, I majored in illustration and I am currently getting my Associates degree in Graphic Design. When I'm not at Parsons, I am a avid baseball watcher, park sitter, book lover and an aspiring hoarder.

Leave a comment