Fashion Documentaries Every Designer MUST See

After watching the new trailer for The First Monday in May, an exclusive look at the planning of the Met Gala, I was moved to write about the fashion documentaries that made me fall in love with the industry all over again. There’s nothing I like more than an inside look at the things that interest me most. That is why I spend a lot of time watching documentaries on the follies of the fashion world. I’ve had a life long passion for this industry, and lucky for me, the fashion documentary fad began as I was growing up in a very unfashionable town. Take a look at the list below and comment telling me your favorites.

P.S. All of these are on Netflix 😉

Unzipped (1995)

There is no fashion film quite as genuine of Unzipped, a documentary featuring Isaac Mizrahi as he prepares to show his 1994 runway collection at New York Fashion Week. This was made during a time where NYFW was last on the fashion month calendar, so the viewer sees how heavily influential other fashion capitals were on American fashion. Also included, Mizrahi’s meetings with the great fashion editors, Polly Mellen and Candy Pratts Price, whose advice to the designer throughout the film is priceless.

Mademoiselle C (2013)

In this movie, former editor-in-chief of Vogue Paris, Carine Roitfeld takes the viewer with her as she embarks on her own journey to start now iconic magazine, CR Fashion Book. For those of you who have seen The September Issue, this film will take you in a similar direction, but also give details on Roitfeld’s collaborations with Stephen Gan, Tom Ford, and Bruce Weber.

In Vogue: The Editor’s Eye (2o13)

In keeping with my obsession with fashion editors, it would be foolish of me not to include this retrospective on Vogue Magazines “secret weapons.” If you want to hear stories behind the publication’s most timeless, elegant, romantic photoshoots, the women who produced them are here to give you that exclusive look. Unfortunately this is not on Netflix, but it is available to watch on YouTube.

Iris (2014)

Iris Apfel is without a doubt one of the best dressed women of all time. The self proclaimed “geriatric starlet” spent the majority of her life as a textile and interior designer to some of the world’s most famous faces (Jacqueline Kennedy was one of them). This film follows the flamboyant 94 year old as she haggles with buyers, chooses dresses, and muses on the modern fashion world.

Dior and I (2014)

I’m sure everyone reading has already seen this fantastic window into the world of Dior haute couture. But for those who haven’t, this film is more than just a look at the design process of former Creative Director Raf Simons. The real stars are the seamstresses who employ timeless techniques in an effort to uphold the high standards of Christian Dior himself. They say Mr. Dior’s spirit haunts the work room, and guides the workers into greatness.

Did I leave any really good ones out? Comment below and let me know about your favorite documentaries!

 

 

About Jeffrey Roy Jr.

My name is Jeffrey and I am a Strategic Design and Management student at Parsons School of Design. When I am not posting on Twitter or Instagram, you can often find me perusing the newsstand at Barnes & Noble.

Leave a Reply

