4 Things From NYFW I’d Like to See as Menswear

Every day at Parsons is like the Meatpacking District during fashion week. If you visited that cobble stoned neighborhood at all over the last week, you saw that designer labels were a dime a dozen on every block. Yes, as unreal as it may seem, people watching at Parsons is almost the same as scrolling through an endless array of street style photographs on Pinterest.

Both the male and female students here have great style, yes, but there is one fashionable debate that either side won’t budge on. The majority of women I talk to say that they envy the menswear department at most stores. “I like the simplicity and the strong structure of menswear,” says one of them.

While I love men’s clothing, I have to say I think womenswear provides a lot more creative opportunities when it comes to getting dressed. It’s much easier to represent a personal aesthetic when you are woman. So, this past fashion week, having attended a few shows, and stalked voguerunway.com, I have compiled a list of trends that I want translated into menswear. I am done with the same old boring suits, shirts, and ties. It’s time for a menswear revolution!

TrendReport_1

This trend first caught my eye at Monse (1), a debut collection by Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia. I can’t get over the fact that this skirt looks like an enormous button-down collared shirt tied around the model’s waist. I’d certainly buy a pair of trousers like this. And yes, Altuzarra (2), I would also like a shirt that buttons down the side and creates a more flattering silhouette for my body. And finally, Rosie Assoulin (3) has me yearning for a menswear line of her clothes. If I had a sweater with a perfect circle cut out on the side, do you know what I could do in terms of outfits? Anything. What about a pair of pants with flowing fabric running down the side? I think I’d look pretty majestic, to be honest. This collection just made life seem unfair.

TrendReport2

I have never been a fan of the tie dye t-shirt. It’s a little tacky in my opinion, but maybe I just can’t pull it off the right way. However, when Altuzarra (1) sent this shirt down the runway, I became infatuated with the idea of a this with a pair of perfectly tailored black trousers. I’m speaking to fast fashion stores when I say this: make this shirt for men. I definitely did not think tie dye could work for pants until I saw this dress at Thakoon (2). Just imagine the tie dye print trickling down one side of a man’s pant leg. #Yes.

TrendReport3

I have been searching for the perfect fringe jacket for so many seasons now. Elie Tahari (1) and Rachel Zoe (2) created two of the most elegant ones I have ever seen. But no, men are stuck with the gimmicky sh*t that makes us look like bad Sonny Bono impersonators. Don’t force us down that road, make a nice fringe jacket for the boys to enjoy. Also, I would appreciate a dressier option a la Escada (3) in their most recent presentation. I love a classic tuxedo more than anyone, but I’d love it even more with fringe falling off the back.

TrendReport4

As a firm believer in the difference some fine tailoring can make, I stand by my decision to include some wild pants on this list. If I took a denim shirt, and half tucked it into these Tommy Hilfiger (1) pants, I would no doubt look perfect for a summer evening. And even I’ll admit that these metallic trousers from Karen Walker (2) are a little much, but I will reiterate that with the right tailoring, you can look good in ANYTHING. Trust me. I guess I’ll have to rely on Jeremy Scott (3) to get me the things I want. Unpopular Parsons opinion: I think Jeremy Scott makes really cool, unique clothes. Sue me!

I’m sure I made this clear, but I am have strong opinions when it comes to womenswear vs. menswear. Men’s fashion companies take note. I can’t be the only one who thinks menswear could use some updates. Comment below and tell me what you’d like to see in future men’s collections.

About Jeffrey Roy Jr.

My name is Jeffrey and I am a Strategic Design and Management student at Parsons School of Design. When I am not posting on Twitter or Instagram, you can often find me perusing the newsstand at Barnes & Noble.

Leave a Reply

