Tips from Parsons Grad: Preparing for the End

For those of you who didn’t know, my days as a Parsons undergrad are over.  I was lucky enough to graduate a semester early, thanks to a handful of AP classes from high school and a study abroad program I did in Barcelona during summer 2012.  I bid farewell to Parsons this December, and I have since been trying to climb that professional ladder and transition from student life to adult life (EEEEK!!).  It’s actually been pretty fantastic thus far, and I owe it all to my experiences while attending Parsons.  The last few months before graduating are stressful and nerve-wracking, but as somebody who just went through all of it, I’m here to offer some relief—everything’s going to be okay!!

Since I still have to wait until May for my graduation ceremony, I celebrated by going to a Major Lazer concert.  That's Diplo in a huge hamster ball rolling over the crowd.  And that's a huge sign of my face in a graduation cap that I made on the 8th floor plotter :)

Since I still have to wait until May for my graduation ceremony, I celebrated by going to a Major Lazer concert. That’s Diplo in a huge hamster ball rolling over the crowd. And that’s a huge sign of my face in a graduation cap that I made on the 8th floor plotter 🙂

Here are some of my tips for keeping your mind on track during your last few months of your college career:

1. Keep track of your progress DegreeWorks
Actually, you shouldn’t wait until the last few months before graduation.  You should constantly be checking your DegreeWorks to make sure that you’ve received all the credits you deserve, that you know which credits you’ve fulfilled, and that you know which courses you still need in order to graduate.

2. Update your resume, cover letter, and portfolio
Don’t wait until after you’re done with school to get your materials prepped!  You should already have this stuff together anyways, but make sure it’s up to date and keep only the most recent and relevant work.  If you need help writing up your resume or cover letter, you can always visit our friends at Career Services.

3. Compile your contacts
You’ll be constantly rubbing elbows with people in the city.  Whether it’s through school, interning, working, or socializing, you never know you’ll meet who just may be able to help in the future.  Email, phone, LinkedIn, and even Facebook are great ways to keep in touch and maintain your network.  Keep those relationships fresh and it won’t be so awkward when you’re trying to hit them up later on.

4. Connect with your network
Once you have your list of contacts, start reaching out to them!  Especially those you’ve worked for in the past.  Ask your old bosses if there’s a position available or if they can connect you with somebody who might need an extra hand.  If they’re dry, simply asking for some guidance or words of wisdom is still helpful, and definitely can’t hurt.

5. Start the hunt early
Not gonna lie, balancing the workload from your final semester with the overwhelmingness of job hunting is super stressful.  My best advice is take it one step at a time, day-by-day.  You have your entire lifetime to find that perfect job, so don’t limit yourself.  Obviously, school should be your first and foremost priority, but sifting through a couple job postings on College Central during your free time is a great way to get yourself warmed up for the impending hunt.  You’ll also start to gain a better idea about what kinds of jobs are out there, the required qualifications, and sometimes even how much they pay.

More tips to come kids!  I’m off to the real world 🙂

-Syd

About Syd

Sup! I'm Syd. I just recently graduated from the Strategic Design & Management program this past fall, but I'm still kickin' it on iheartparsons.com to offer some words of wisdom! I love Sriracha sauce, quoting Spongebob Squarepants, solving Rubik's Cubes, and electronic dance music. Go Parsons!

Leave a Reply

