Explore the possibilities! Get a little lost!

MotionX-GPS-Drive-6.0

When I first found out that I was accepted into Parsons and made the decision that Parsons would be the school for me, I thought about how big the city was, and how utterly terrible I was with directions! My mom had used the expression, “can’t find his way out of a paper bag” to describe me and that remains true until today. At the time I had assumed this would be a negative thing, but found out very quickly that it was the opposite of a bad thing. When I got up to New York, on the first day, I dropped my baggage off at the dorm and then walked out onto 13th street, looking around in pure amazement. I began to walk.

With no Idea where I was going, but a general idea of the direction that I came from, I wandered the streets of Greenwich Village until I came up to a park which, after asking people where I was, found out that it was Washington Square Park (which remains my favorite park to date). I had gotten lost on purpose and then found this amazing place where in the future I would return back to to get drawings done, to listen to musicians create their art, and to just relax many days and nights out of the school year.

You never know what you will find when you make yourself get lost, but when you are lost, you might realize that you end up exactly where you need to be.

-Allen

About allenspencer26

I am an Illustration student at Parsons: The New School for Design! Texas bred, New York fed. I am set to graduate 2016. I love to draw and I really like macaroni and cheese and full throttle energy drink.

Leave a Reply

