Shhh! It’s Application Reading Season!

It is the best and busiest time of the year here in the Parsons Admissions Office – it’s application reading season!

We are busy bees filing, printing, reading, reviewing and all that good stuff that comes with our Priority February 1st, 2014 application deadline. First, we just wanted to thank students for applying to Parsons, we have been dazzled and inspired so far by your applicants. For those who have not applied yet, you still have time and can still submit an application for Fall 2014, but get to it!

Morgan came through the snow, ice and snow rain to get to the office to read her files!

Morgan came through the snow, ice and snow rain to get to the office to read her files!

With all this application reading going on, we may not be answering our emails and phones as much or as quickly. Please be patient with us, we will get back to you, we promise, it may just take us a couple of days. Also if you have mailed your transcripts, submitted test scores or anything like that, it will take around 10 to 14 business days to process in our office. We understand you may be anxious but trust us, it will get here!

Erin Stine is kicking back, putting her feet up and reading applications thoughtfully.

Erin Stine is kicking back, putting her feet up and reading applications thoughtfully.

The good news is that our first batch of letters will go out on February 14th, 2014 – our Valentine’s Day present to you. So if you are waiting for an answer and you have ants in your pants, have no fear decisions will be heading out in the mail and via your New School Admissions Hub. Keep your eye on the prize!

About Katie

Hi there y'all! My name is Katie and I am an Admissions Counselor here at Parsons. I am a recent graduate of Parsons, I majored in illustration and I am currently getting my Associates degree in Graphic Design. When I'm not at Parsons, I am a avid baseball watcher, park sitter, book lover and an aspiring hoarder.

19 comments

  1. sri satya

    hi i am from india studying final year of my bachelors.i have applied for parsons aas fashion design program for fall 2014.my application is complete by 4th january 2014.but i have retaken toefl due to poor performance in my previous test and the new score has been received by parsons on 1st february 2014..could you please tell me when the decision letters will be sent?are scholarships/financial aid letters sent along with decision letter or later?

    • Morgan Ersery

      Hi there! Thanks for your interest in the AAS Fashion Design program. We’ll be sending out our first wave of decisions next week, so keep an eye out!

  2. Irene

    On your twitter, it says that email decisions are being sent out on March 1st. Is this for all the priority students who applied, or just the people you’ve finished reviewing *so far*?

    Thanks 🙂

    • Morgan Ersery

      Hi Irene,

      Decisions are going out for students who were complete by the Priority Deadline of February 1st. We were able to read most of the applications that were complete during the first week of February as well. If you weren’t complete at that time, we’re still going to be sending out decisions on a weekly rolling basis.

      Best,

      • Irene

        Hi Morgan,

        First of all, thank you for answering my question. I have another question as well…

        I applied a week before the priority deadline, but I didn’t get an “application completed” email until Feb. 20 because your system didn’t process my personal essay, (I had to email admissions about it, and they then processed it.)

        Does this mean my decision is going to go out later because my application wasn’t complete until late February? I’m sorry for being so nosy about this, but I’m just so anxious to hear an answer!

        Thank you so much and all the best,

        Irene

      • Morgan Ersery

        HI Irene,

        Thanks so much for your patience. Many of the decision letters have gone out and can be seen by logging into your Admission Hub. If it’s still not there, please contact the office directly, either by emailing thinkparsons@gmail.com or by calling the office and someone can check on your file.

        Best,

  3. William Stautberg

    Hey Admissions, my name is William Stautberg and I applied early January for a BFA in Fashion Design. I know decisions are typically communicated by six weeks, but I was wondering if you knew when the next batch of decisions was going out or if I could get more of an answer… Thanks so much.

    • Morgan Ersery

      Hi William, thanks for reading the blog and for applying to Parsons! Even if you applied before the Feb 1 deadline, we send out all of the first batch of decision letters at the same time, which was last week. You should also be able to see your decision through your Admission Hub beginning March 1st.

      Best of luck to you!

  4. Camille

    Hello! I was wondering if the information regarding the merit scholarship is sent separately from your acceptance mail?

    • Morgan Ersery

      Hi Camille,

      Thanks for your question! Once admitted, students are able to log into their new my.newschool.edu account to view the statuses of student services such as housing, health and financial aid. If it is not available there, please contact the Student Financial Services office at sfs@newschool.edu.

      Best,

  5. William Stautberg

    Hey admissions,

    I just recently got my acceptance letter and was wondering if I was supposed to hear back about scholarships at the same time considering that I applied at the priority deadline of January 15th. I was also wondering if you knew what the first day or orientation of the semester would be for Fall 2014?

    Thanks so much,

    William Stautberg

    • Morgan Ersery

      Hi William,

      Congratulations on your admission into Parsons! The first day of class for the Fall 2014 term will be August 25th, 2014 and orientation starts one week before that on August 18th. Students should be able to view their financial aid award via their my.newschool.edu account. That said, if your award has not been processed yet, it could be that the Student Financial Services office is still waiting on information from you or your family. You can contact them at sfs@newschool.edu to check.

  6. Yashi Mehta

    Hi! I have applied for the fashion design AAS – fall 2014. I submitted my application on 30th March. I wanted to know by when can I expect a decision?

    • Morgan Ersery

      Hi there,
      Thanks for your interest in the AAS program and for applying! If your application was complete by April 1st, we will, more than likely, be able to get a decision out to you by the end of this month.

      Best,

  7. Ashley Park

    Hello, I submitted my application and portfolio, but the only thing I need is TOEFL score. I took it on 1/31, but I’m planning to take another one on 3/7. Should I send the 1/31 test’s score first to get all my application done, so that admissions can start reviewing on my application and update the score after I took the new test on 3/7? or should I wait until I take the new test and get the new score? I so worried if I can have a chance to get in to Parsons on rolling basis. Please help me out. Thank you.

    • Katie

      Hi there Ashley,

      Thank you for reading our Parsons blog.

      If you are looking for your decision and want it sooner, I suggest submitting your TOEFL as soon as possible. But if it is lower than our required score than maybe you should wait. It is up to you and what your timeline looks like. Yet, I will say it is better to meet our required score. Up to you and what you would like to do!

  8. Payal

    Hey Admissions,

    I am very keen on in getting myself enrolled for the AAS in Fashion Marketing in the fall of 2015. There is slight hiccup though in this process, I have started my application and have completed major bits of it but what is remaining is my TOEFL score and the hiccup is that am currently in the US visiting my sister and would only be back in India at the end of April, which of course I would have missed the deadline. Is it possible for me to give my TOEFL exam here in the states on a tourist visa.?

    What I wanted to know was would my application still be accepted post the deadline ?.Also, am aware that i would be on a rolling admission basis if i happen to send my complete application.. Could i also know how many seats are allotted for this program ?

    I know it will be very late, but am determined that it could happen, with a little guidance from you, i will be relived.

    • Katie

      Hi there Payal,

      Thanks for reading the Parsons Admissions Blog.

      All of our deadlines are rolling admission, meaning we will accept applications and scores after the deadline. If you do not have the time to take it currently, I would suggest just waiting till you return home to take a TOEFL or an IELTS test. Usually for Associates Program we have plenty of room for late applicants and we are willing to work with you to make sure we have space. So, overall do not worry take your test when you can and we will try to get you a decision as soon as possible. If you have anymore questions, please email thinkparsons@newschool.edu

      Katie

  9. Payal

    Thank You so much Katie.. Its a big relief to know that I can continue with my application process once I return home.

Leave a Reply

