Tips for a (Somewhat) Productive Winter Break

im-gonna-be-productive-this-winter-break

The first week of winter break is officially over. During the past 6 days I don’t think I’ve woken up before 11am (only once to make my early morning flight home), I have watched copious amounts of Netflix and I have eaten a lot of great food, a lot. I definitely needed this and deserved this much needed R&R after enduring that monstrous thing called finals for the last two weeks prior. 

But, I can not let an entire 6 weeks go by and all I have to show for it is having caught up on Game of Thrones, which I intend on doing, but, I would like this break to definitely be much more productive than winter breaks in the past have been. Especially since this will be my last (cue violins!).

I’m not home for long, so my normal “New York Life” will somewhat resume but for those of you who are home for the majority of break or for those of you in NY with not much to do here some tips to keep you a little productive in between all the sleeping/munching. 

Start Applying/Looking for Internships

It is never too early to get a jump start on those internship applications! Or if you are a senior like me, you’re most likely going to start looking and applying for real jobs (yikes!). Both process’ are time consuming and repetitive. I once even sent the same cover letter to two different companies for an internship without changing one of the companies’ name, big mistake. Take some time and hone your resume and cover letter so you’ll definitely get the internship you’ve always wanted come spring or summer!

KNITTED-BEARDS-SNOWHOME

Knitted beards are snow in

Make Things!

Okay so at least for us art school kids we’re making things all the time, but why not create something you wouldn’t normally make. There are so many awesome DIYs out there and now is the perfect time to start one. This winter break I really want to learn how to knit/crochet, something I’ve always wanted to know how to do but never made time for.

Read

While I am definitely not judging you for watching an entire season of The Walking Dead in a day it may not be such a bad idea to pull your eyes away from the TV/Computer or whatever screen you may be looking at and read a great book. Like a real tangible book with pages. Heck, even if it’s an art book, that’s something!

fam

Just be glad this isn’t your family…

Spend Time with Your Family

This is sort of a given but lets be honest, sometimes being home consists more of napping, eating and seeing your friends than it does spending some real good quality time with the fam. They’ve missed you and while the endless questions about your elusive new “New York Life” can be annoying learn to get through it. Because chances are you’re probably only home twice as year, so spend as much time as you can with your folks!

Get a Job

This is a great time to start earning a little bit of money on the side. And it totally doesn’t have to be a job that sucks. We’re all creative people. Sell some art work, advertise your skills as a babysitter, dog walker, house sitter, whatever. Or better yet, now is a great time to volunteer in NY or back home!

Wishing everyone a fun, safe and productive winter break! 

About Lauren

Hey all! I am currently a junior at Parsons in the Integrated Design fashion program. You can usually find me creating or making things, I love a great D.I.Y. Other favorite activities of mine include thrifting, consuming frozen yogurt, dancing and discovering new music!

One comment

  1. It is in reality a great and useful piece of info.

    I’m happy that you shared this useful info with us. Please stay us informed like this.
    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

