Nothing to do this Summer? Start your College Applications!

Fancy Free Brighton Beach going Days!

Fancy Free Brighton Beach going Days!

Warm days, late night sunsets and fancy free footwear is all we ever want to think about during the summer. But realistically and I hate to say it – Fall is always around the corner. Feel free to call me a buzzkill because that is exactly what I feel like. Soon September will be upon us and portfolio reviews, application deadlines and of  course the inevitable campus visits will occur. But why wait until the last green leaf changes to the murky brown color of Fall to start your college search? I am here to tell you dear friends to jump start your college process this summer. With some helpful and easy tips – you will be well on you’re way!

1.     Keep a Sketchbook and/or a Journal – We all think we can remember everything but realistically we cannot because we are not all steel traps. Keeping a sketchbook and tracking your ideas will not only help you to create final pieces but will also help you realize what you actually like. Think of it as a manual Pinterest. Try to sit down for 15 minutes a day and just write/draw/paint/ collage your ideas. Admissions Counselors love to see sketchbooks during portfolio reviews!

2.     Make at least TWO new things this summer– I hate when students come up to me with a bare minimum of eight pieces at a portfolio review. In all honesty folks, if you want to become an artist or designer you should be making at least one new piece of work a month. I understand outside responsibilities but this is what your suppose to like and what you want to do. So make some things this summer – at least TWO final pieces. These can be whatever you want, silkscreen t-shirts, make a mural, do an outdoor sculpture or create a whole video. Just do something!

3.     Do the Research – Now six years ago, I never did this. I accepted the list of suggested colleges from my college counselor and I just went from that list. I applied to five different schools and three of them I already knew I never wanted to attend. Go figure. Take your destiny into your own hands and just do a quick search on some colleges. Make a list of ten schools that seem promising and go from there. Also make sure to check application deadline dates. If you can apply for Early Action and feel comfortable doing so, always aim for that early application! Getter’ done!

4.     Book Fall NOW – Most colleges have announced when their Fall Open houses are going to happening. Take a look! Open Houses are the easiest way to see a campus, meet students, meet faculty and to gage if the school is a right fit. Also if you are applying to art and design schools, you should take a look at National Portfolio Days. There is a full list of schools that attend these Portfolio days and it’s a great way to meet college reps while getting your portfolio reviewed in your hometown!

I know. You can fully hate me for ruining the floppy endless days of summer. But just think how ready you will be for fall and how jealous your classmates will be. Right? Don’t hate me.

About Katie

Hi there y'all! My name is Katie and I am an Admissions Counselor here at Parsons. I am a recent graduate of Parsons, I majored in illustration and I am currently getting my Associates degree in Graphic Design. When I'm not at Parsons, I am a avid baseball watcher, park sitter, book lover and an aspiring hoarder.

One comment

  1. Sharon

    Hi! I’m an international student and applying for Spring 2014 admission. My TOEFL score doesn’t meet the minimum required score and I’m not sure about my portfolio. Also, I was just wondering what is the acceptance rate? Is it too late to apply on September? Thanks in advance 🙂

Leave a Reply

