What I’ll Miss About the City this Summer!

View of the city from the waterfront in Brooklyn

View of the city from the waterfront in Brooklyn

For the first time in two years I will not be spending the majority of the summer in New York. Instead I will be in London, studying abroad, which is where I am currently sitting writing this! And although I am absolutely thrilled to be here this summer, especially since it’s my first time here, there are obviously some things I will miss about being in the city for the summer.

Summer in New York is unlike anywhere else and even though summers can get pretty hot and sticky, after a long winter it’s certainly nice to enjoy the warm weather during the day and at night as well! Below I give you the top 5 things i’ll be missing about the city! All photography by Parsons Integrated Design senior Guang Xu

228010_10150593857655080_4666634_n

Friends picnicking in Central Park

1. Free things!

Summer in New York City is filled with tons of free and amazing things to do. Now that people have a bit more free time and the weather is more permitting, there is always something to do and if not free, super cheap! 

In addition to all the free concerts which I’ll get into in a bit there are tons of other great things to do. Central Park’s Shakespeare in the Park happens through mid August for theatre lovers. Free outdoor movie screenings also happen all over the city from Bryant Park to Prospect Park in Brooklyn. And even simple things such as having a picnic in the park or heading to the beach are also amongst some free activities to do during the summer! 

Taylor Swift performing

Taylor Swift performing a free concert in the city

2.  Outdoor Concerts! 

Oh gosh where do I begin?! The amount of concerts happening all over the city and in Brooklyn during the summer is ridiculous! Free concerts are everywhere such as Summerstage which hosts free concerts all over the city. Others include festivals such as Governors Ball and I’m hoping to check out the Justin Timberlake and Jay-Z concert at Yankee Stadium when I’m back in town! For a more comprehensive list check this out!

251761_10150627183580080_4788445_n

Enjoying Ice Cream at the Brooklyn Flea

3. Markets/Festivals/Parades!

It’s almost impossible to walk around the city during the day without running into some sort of street fair, festival. or even a parade! The Brooklyn Flea is one of my favorite markets in Fort Greene where you can get some of the coolest and unique things from clothing to furniture. Other favorites are Pridefest at the end of June and the West Indian Labor Day parade!

Yummy cupcakes from a outdoor food market

Yummy cupcakes from a outdoor food market

 4. Food!

I can’t have a summer post without mentioning all the amazing food there is as well! Amazing ice cream shops and even popsicle shops such as People’s Pops are back. And now that it’s warm out There are tons of outdoor markets dedicated solely to food! Hester Nights is an awesome way to sample tons of foods/drinks in an outdoor park setting. Other food markets include Madison Square Eats and my personal favorite Smorgasburg in Williamsburg!

5. My Friends!

Although I’m having fun and meeting tons of new people I can’t say I won’t miss my friends this summer! 

Have an awesome summer everyone!

About Lauren

Hey all! I am currently a junior at Parsons in the Integrated Design fashion program. You can usually find me creating or making things, I love a great D.I.Y. Other favorite activities of mine include thrifting, consuming frozen yogurt, dancing and discovering new music!

Leave a Reply

