End of the Year! Students Reflections

Summer is finally here! Well, classes don’t officially end until Monday, May 20th but for me I am dunzo! I had a great year, learned a lot about myself and my design aesthetic and I can’t believe I am officially a rising senior! For the first half summer I’ll be doing a lot of traveling which I’m happy about and then coming back to NY for the last part is going to be great to. I love New York in the summer it’s unlike anywhere else!

I caught up with some current and graduating Parsons kids about how they felt about this past semester, and what their plans are for the summer!

image001

Desiree flashes a smile outside Arnold Hall

Name: Desiree W
Major & Year:
 BAFA, Fine Arts / Anthropology ’15
What Are Your Plans for Summer?:
Mostly just enjoying the free activities New York has to offer such as the free concerts in central park, and I really want to explore other burroughs. 
Something you Learned this Semester: I learned motivation is key along with ambition and gratitude!                                                                                                          Something you Would Like to Take from this Semester into the Next: New Friends! I’m excited to get to know some new people.

image02

Dylan and Ashley outside Arnold Hall

Name: Dylan D  
Major & Year:
 Design & Management ’14
What Are Your Plans for Summer?: 
I just got offered a paid internship at a branding and strategy consultant agency here in the city!
Least Favorite Thing about the Semester: Finance class.
Something you Learned this Semester: I learned you really have to put in the work to see a result!

Something you Would Like to Take from this Semester into the Next: I would like to continue my group project about higher education for my senior thesis!

Name: Ashley Bass
Major & Year:
 Integrated Fashion Design ’14
What Are Your Plans for Summer?: 
I’ll be back home in Michigan. Working on two collections for my portfolio!
What Are You Going to Miss About the City?: I’ll miss the busyness of the city and all my friends!
Best Part About This Semester: I really love my major!                              Something you Learned this Semester: Don’t be scared to say no! Speak up for yourself and know your value.

image01

Zack and Emma posing outside of the Shelia E. Johnson Design Center

Name: Zack Grayson
Major & Year:
 Urban Design ’14
What Are Your Plans for Summer?: 
I’ll be studying abroad in Denamrk.
What Are You Going to Miss About the City?: I’ll miss the convenience and the familiarity of everything. I’ll also really miss the parks, I live two blocks from the highline.
Best Part About This Semester: Getting better in my field!                                                                      Worst Part About This Semester: Missing out on going out as much, but actually not really because I don’t really care for clubbing and all that. Probably not getting an internship.                                                                                                                             Something you Learned this Semester: I learned if you’re not going hard you’re going home.

Name: Emma H
Major & Year:
 Communication Design ’14
What Are Your Plans for Summer?: 
I’ll be in and out of the city. I’ll also have a job waitressing, I’m just excited to spend time with my friends who are home from college!
Best Part About This Semester: My experimental typography class. I got to use spray paint and do a lot of things by hand. It was a good escape.
Something you Would Like to Take from this Semester into the Next: I was really good at time management, I set aside a good schedule and didn’t pull any all-nighters!

image03

Emily and Fanno hangin outside of the SJDC

Name: Emily E
Major & Year:
 Photography ’15
What Are Your Plans for Summer?: 
I’ll be traveling back and forth from Pennsylvania to the city. I’m excited about shooting outside of school and having that be my main focus. 
Best Part About This Semester: I had some really great teachers.                                                                 Worst Part About This Semester: I can’t think of anything.                                                          Something you Learned this Semester: I learned what I want to focus on and what I want to get out of the rest of my career.                                                             

Something you Would Like to Take from this Semester into the Next:My Schedule! I have two days off right now and I want to keep that going.

Name: Franno B
Major & Year:
 Design & Technology ’13
What Are Your Plans for Summer?: 
I’m going back to China. I’m excited to see my parents and do some traveling.
What Are You Going to Miss About the City?: I’ll miss the opportunities here and the art and cultural scene. 
Best Part About This Semester: Learning how to do interactive design.                                                                     Worst Part About This Semester: Heavy homework.                                                                        What Are Your Plans Post Graduation?: I plan on working in advertising in China.

image04

Pauline in the lobby and Laszlo taking a break outside of SJDC

Name: Pauline S
Major & Year:
 Communication Design ’14
What Are Your Plans for Summer?: 
I’ll be in the city and I really just want to take a break from looking at the computer screen and just go out and explore. I want to visit a lot of museums and go to a lot of shows this summer. 
Best Part About This Semester: Just being abe to challenge myself. I tried doing things i normall wouldn’t in my design decisions.                                                                       Worst Part About This Semester: It went by really really fast!                                                      Something you Would Like to Take from this Semester into the Next: If I have as much dedication as I have now into senior year, or even more passion and dedication that would be great. You can get really worn out over three years and I don’t want that to happen!

Name: Laszlo T
Major & Year: Product Design
 ’14
What Are Your Plans for Summer?: 
I found a job here in the city working for a toxic free fiber glass company. 
Best Part About This Semester: Graduating!                                                                  Worst Part About This Semester: I just had a lot going on with school, graduating and also trying to start my own business as well.                                                 

Something you Learned this Semester: I’m learning the business aspect of my work. I know how to build but also learning how to organize everything and making everything as professional as possible is important too.

Wishing everyone an amazing great summer!

-L

About Lauren

Hey all! I am currently a junior at Parsons in the Integrated Design fashion program. You can usually find me creating or making things, I love a great D.I.Y. Other favorite activities of mine include thrifting, consuming frozen yogurt, dancing and discovering new music!

Leave a Reply

