Student on Student Interview: Renée Sundén

This past fall semester in one of my studio classes IDC Interfaces: Love the class was quite simple: to create what you love. It was a really great experience and everyone came up with really diverse projects. One of my classmates, Renee Sunden, decided to create zines, which are basically just short cute little magazines. One of the many zines Renee created was about how her friends were admitted into Parsons, so what better outlet to share some of the zine than here on the admissions blog! Renee’s were printed out but for viewing purposes here it is digitally, I also spoke to Renee about the process and why she even decided to create zines in the first place. 

Renée!

Renée!

zine

Lauren Davis: Hey Renée! Tell me why you decided to create Zines for your project this past semester?
Renée Sundén: When I was 8 or 9 living in Belgium my friend Betsy and I started making little hand drawn magazines. We called it RBBR and continued doing it throughout elementary school even when she moved to California. Ever since then I’ve loved magazines and making them. So it seemed natural when in my IDP Love class we were assigned to do a semester long project about something that we love. At the time I was also taking a Fashion Publishing class taught by Rachel Aydt and were given an assignment about advice. I decided to use Parsons as a source. After writing the piece, I edited it some and made a zine out of it for my Love class. It was a great way to bring two of my classes together and show how transdisciplinary our work can be.

Jenny Zine

LD: What was your favorite part of the creation process?
Renee Sunden: My favorite part was probably doing the illustrations. Firstly, I was learning a new skill in drawing with a tablet and came to really enjoy the process. Secondly, I interviewed my friends for the zine so it was a lot of fun getting to draw them and having them be recognized by other friends. Hopefully my friends were flattered by my drawings!

Screen shot 2013-03-21 at 9.50.53 PM

FelicityZine

LD: Would you want to create more zines in the future? What would they be about?
Renee Sunden: I would love to work on more zines. I’m about to start working on another one with one of my classmates Guang Xu for our IDP Gift class. Our class is doing a collaboration with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra. Guang and I have been tasked to create the zine for our final presentation on May 5th. I also really enjoy writing about student issues and I would really like to collect stories about people’s internship experiences. I think it could be really helpful for people learning about the process of applying for internships and also knowing their rights as an intern. Additionally I’ve rekindled my love for creative writing. I made one zine using my creative writing and my own illustrations and received a lot of positive feedback. It’s definitely pushed me to get back into it.

DavidZine

LD: Since we’ve heard from your peers how they got into Parsons, what advice would you offer?
Renee Sunden: I did a pre-college program at Parsons and it was probably one of the best decisions I’ve made. Not only did it prepare me to live on my own before going away to college, but it also really helped me develop my portfolio for my application. I don’t think I couldn’t have done it without that class! I encourage students to take classes outside of high school at colleges. It will help you get a taste of what college is like and will help you build not only your portfolio, but also your confidence. And remember to go for it! The worst thing for your chances is not even apply!

Huge thanks to Renée for sharing her zine!

About Lauren

Hey all! I am currently a junior at Parsons in the Integrated Design fashion program. You can usually find me creating or making things, I love a great D.I.Y. Other favorite activities of mine include thrifting, consuming frozen yogurt, dancing and discovering new music!

4 comments

  1. What a lovely zine!
    I’m currently applying to Parsons and have read this blog all the way to the first posts, it’s been great help. Big thanks to all the contributors. 🙂

  2. Julia Liao

    Hi Morgan!
    Although this comment is unrelated to this post (sorry). As a freshman Parsons I just wanted to ask how to be part of the admissions council and to be working on this blog. i loved this blog and it contributed to my decision of coming to this school and would like to be a part of it in the future.

    • Morgan Ersery

      Hi Julia,

      Thanks so much for reading and for your comment. It’s good to know that our little blog makes a difference out there. As far as writing for the blog, all of our students who write for the blog have been hired to be a part of our Social Media team. They all have great experience and strong knowledge of Parsons and The New School. Keep an eye out for when we’re hiring in the future. There may also be an opportunity to write a guest spot beginning in the Fall.

      Best,

Leave a Reply

