Ask an Admissions Counselor: Meet Kelly Murray!

     Kelly Murray is our Assistant Director for International Recruitment and Outreach in our Parsons Admissions Office. She’s been all over the world this past fall including Mexico, India and Turkey- just to name a few places. But she is now home, back in the office for the winter with her passport full of stamps and the constant urge for a big old American hamburger. For our Wednesday post, we thought we would ask Kelly, our world traveler,  for some Admissions tips for those prospective students who are trying to make our February 1st Admissions deadline!

Kelly_Murray

Kelly in Turkey this past fall!

Where did you go to college?: Syracuse University

Your Favorite Place to eat in NYC: Northeast Kingdom in Brooklyn

What you can’t live without: Diet Pepsi… it’s a problem.

Favorite NYC tourist attraction: Go an hour early to a Broadway show and sign up for the lottery. If you win, your ticket is significantly discounted and usually the seats are spectacular. I’ve seen Wicked front row center 3 times!

If you could take a class at Parsons, what class?: I would take one of the courses within The School of Art and Design History and Theory.  I received my undergraduate degree in Art History and I actually miss writing those analytical papers.

Long Answer:

Describe your best recruitment trip for Parsons. Where did you go?            Why was it fantastic? Taiwan. The night fairs are amazing and the street food is incredible!  You can pretty much have a full meal on the equivalent of $2.

If you could go somewhere to do school visits where would you go and why? I would probably visit my old high school in Buffalo, NY. I very rarely get to see my family with all of my travel.

What was your favorite or best portfolio you have ever seen while being an admissions counselor for Parsons?                                                                                  One of the first portfolio’s I ever reviewed was from a student who had been in an auto rickshaw accident in India the year prior. Due to the head injury she received she longer had the ability to recognize faces even those of her own family members.  Her artwork represented the small nuances of people’s personalities that she now used to recognize and remember individuals.

What advice do you give to prospective students who are applying to Parsons?                                                                                                                                          To be honest in their artwork and essays.  Many applicants try to take on a personality of the existential artist or designer.  Sometimes they get very wrapped up in what exactly a “typical” portfolio should be, but in reality we want to see what your style is and what your thoughts are on the world.  Above all don’t write, “Ever since I was four years old I’ve had a passion for fashion.”  We see that about 20 times a day.

About Katie

Hi there y'all! My name is Katie and I am an Admissions Counselor here at Parsons. I am a recent graduate of Parsons, I majored in illustration and I am currently getting my Associates degree in Graphic Design. When I'm not at Parsons, I am a avid baseball watcher, park sitter, book lover and an aspiring hoarder.

Leave a Reply

