Lessons Learned From Sandy

I would like to first give my sincere condolences to anyone severely affected by Hurricane Sandy. As I type this I am sitting in my apartment with a lamp illuminating my room, the heat on and access to plenty of hot water. We so often take for granted things that we see and use everyday and it’s only in their absence do we come to truly appreciate just how vital these things are.

It’s amazing to me just how different and extreme people’s experiences were this past week throughout New York City. From people like me who were affected very little and were able to maintain their electricity and water to people on Staten Island who are still feeling the devastating after-effects of the storm. I did learned some things this past week though, about myself and about my community as well.

1. Stay Informed
It’s important to be aware of what’s happening around you every single day! Not just when there is potentially a natural disaster. The fact that my mother, in the midwest, was updating me on the storm and knew how severe it would be before I even did is not okay! In addition to this take what the news reporters are saying seriously, they probably know what they’re talking about.

Blackout in lower Manhattan

2. Appreciate Everything
As I mentioned before, you never know what you’ve got till it’s gone! All I’ve had to go without during this time is the L train, but many many people have lost a lot more. Appreciate the little things in life whatever that may be for you. While riding the subway today for the first time in over a week, I definitely had a much more sincere gratitude for it than ever before!

3. The New School Got Your Back
The New School canceled classes this past week and all of the dorms, which are located in lower Manhattan, lost power, and Williams Street Residence also had to be evacuated. In light of this natural disaster what I found to be the most helpful and beneificial is how The New School was able to come together as a community.

My inbox was flooded with updates from The New Schol President, David E. Van Zandt, letting students and faculty know what was happening and how we move forward together. Students were (and still are) able to take shelter at Arnold Hall, and faculty went out of their way to make sure this was possible and help students feel as comfortable as possible.

To find out more about how you can help victims of Hurricane Sandy check out Occupy Sandy for more info!

About Lauren

Hey all! I am currently a junior at Parsons in the Integrated Design fashion program. You can usually find me creating or making things, I love a great D.I.Y. Other favorite activities of mine include thrifting, consuming frozen yogurt, dancing and discovering new music!

Leave a Reply

