My First Parsons Road Trip, Chicago!

A little Parsons pose in front of the Chicago Skyline!

Parsons was in Chicago this past weekend for National Portfolio Day hosted by School of the Art Insititute of Chicago. Not only did we have an awesome time reviewing some cool kids portfolios but we also got to spend some time going around Chi-town.

Recently, I was hired by Parsons as the Office Admission Coordinator and was given the chance to do some counseling on the side. I had always loved working for Parsons as a student and now am happy to be joining the Parsons Admissions team as a graduate. While working, I am also continuing my education and hope to start the Graphic Design AAS program in the spring. So it looks like y’all are stuck with me for a little while longer!

This was my first time on the road with Parsons reviewing portfolios, and can I just tell you how impressive some high school students are? I mean – I was blown away by some crazy sketchbooks, fiber arts and even some really cool hand developed photography.  I met so many nice students and was able to force my favorite artists on young minds (it’s something I can’t help).  Y’all are so talented and all the Parsons Admissions staff had a super fun time checking out some great portfolios in Chicago.

Myself, Hillary, Brett and Erin doing some Parsons tourist things before Porfolio Day!

After this past weekend, I am hooked and portfolio reviews and can’t wait to see some more of you guys while out on the road. Parsons will be traveling for the next couple of months so be sure to check out our National Portfolio Day page to see when we are coming to a city near you. If you see us at a National Portfolio Day and read our admissions blog, don’t hesitate to come up to us and give us a holler- we love to hear that you’re reading! Hope to see y’all out there and best of luck with your college applications folks!

About Katie

Hi there y'all! My name is Katie and I am an Admissions Counselor here at Parsons. I am a recent graduate of Parsons, I majored in illustration and I am currently getting my Associates degree in Graphic Design. When I'm not at Parsons, I am a avid baseball watcher, park sitter, book lover and an aspiring hoarder.

Leave a Reply

