Neighborhood Tour: Williamsburg

Since leaving my beloved dorm in the East Village a couple months ago, I’ve been calling Williamsburg, Brooklyn my home. Super hipster, yes, but it’s also such an awesome area with cool stores, shops and places to hang out. During my first couple of months in New York the places I ventured out to were definitely limited to the area around school and a couple of other familiar places to me. I definitely wish I ventured out more but the problem was I just didn’t know where to go! There’s so much to do and so much to see that it can be a little overwhelming at times.  I’ve done quite a bit of exploring since moving here and to add to the neighborhood tour series I’d like to share some of my favorite places to go and things to do all from the perspective from a college student on a budget.

DuMont Mac and Cheese

Eats

Pies ‘n’ Thighs
This place is a little bit of southern comfort here in the city. Cheap, delicious and I mean c’mon, where else in New York can you find cheese grits on the menu?

La Superior
Mexican Monday, Taco Tuesday, it’s safe to say I love Mexican food and would totally eat at La Superior everyday of the week if I could! The fish tacos are definitely some of the best I’ve had in New York!

Two Door Tavern
Sunday brunch has definitely become popular amongst New Yorkers, and Two Door does not disappoint. They have red velvet pancakes. Enough said.

DuMont
Where do I begin? This gem has some of the best food I’ve ever had in Brooklyn! Good for brunch, lunch or dinner – DuMont never disappoints. The mac and cheese is definitely also a favorite.

East River Park

Places to Go

Brooklyn Bowl
Not sure how many bowling ally-concert venues there are out there, but this one is definitely a favorite.

East River State Park
For those nice days out this is definitely a cool hang out spot. Another attraction in the area is the East River Ferry. I’ve yet to ride it, but it sounds a lot more interesting than your normal L train commute with stops in Midtown, Wall St. and other destinations.

Brooklyn Flea

Shops

Brooklyn Flea
Every Sunday at the Williamsburg waterfront vendors selling everything from food, furniture, antiques, vintage clothing and more set up just south of the East River State Park. Definitely one of my favorite things to do on a Sunday, but hurry because it will switch to an indoor location after November 18th!

Junk
The title says it all! If you’re looking for unique furniture, vintage clothes, knick-knacks, old typewriters and other things of that nature, Junk has all that and more. You could easily spend hours exploring the seemingly endless amount of things in the store. They also sell vintage photographs, which are fun to go through.

Artists and Fleas
This market is like a flea market with a twist.  Emerging artists and designers sell their designs from vintage clothing to handmade candles, jewelry and other crafts. It’s a great way to personally speak to the artists and also support young designers. Who knows, you may be selling your work there next!

About Lauren

Hey all! I am currently a junior at Parsons in the Integrated Design fashion program. You can usually find me creating or making things, I love a great D.I.Y. Other favorite activities of mine include thrifting, consuming frozen yogurt, dancing and discovering new music!

Leave a Reply

