Tips For The ‘New’ New Yorker: Snack Attack!

We all lose track of time and as soon as you know it, it’s 9 o’clock and all you’ve eaten is a bowl of cereal that morning. To prevent such terror and hunger, every New Yorker is a snack packer. Snacks may range from a pack of gum, the constant thermos of coffee or my favorite street fruit ( y’all know the fruit carts around town, how can you pass up a box of blueberries for 2.50?).  Personally, I have four constant snacks packed in my daily backpack, these tiny hunger relievers include: an apple, a cereal bar, a pack of gum and a tea bag. It’s a meal in a flash or quick tie-over during class. Other good options are fruit leathers, trail mix bars and little individual bags of almonds.  I always carrying a mason jar just in the rare occasion I run across a hot water machine and can steep some tea (mason jars are also good coffee or water cups).  Another handy daily packing is an Anti-Bacterial soap mini and perhaps some lotion on some of my more girly days.  Subway riding never ends in clean hands, and sometimes before you grab that packed snack you should maybe give a good clean before dealing with subway germs directly.

Basically, who wants to wake up 15 minutes early to pack a lunch? I mean grabbing the peanut butter and jelly out of the cabinet is such a drag at 7:30 in the morning. That’s why the smart snack packer is not only the person with more sleep but the person who is also befriended the most in class. Who wouldn’t want to be friends with the person who packs extra almonds? That just says “Best Friends Forever” all over it.

About Katie

Hi there y'all! My name is Katie and I am an Admissions Counselor here at Parsons. I am a recent graduate of Parsons, I majored in illustration and I am currently getting my Associates degree in Graphic Design. When I'm not at Parsons, I am a avid baseball watcher, park sitter, book lover and an aspiring hoarder.

Leave a Reply

