Tips for the “New” New Yorker: The Park Getaway

The paved streets, crowded bike lanes and overall lack of green all add to a New Yorker’s need for a little nature getaway. But where can you go in the city that never sleeps? Well dear friends, may I suggest some parks that aren’t the big kahuna of New York City parks  (a.k.a Central Park) and defer you to some quainter areas of the city.

Did you know that New York has over 1,700 parks and playgrounds? Parks are usually a stone’s throw away, but if you’re ever in the East Village, boy, do I have some parks for you! My love for Thompkins Square Park, over on Avenue A and 10th  Street started my freshman year of Parsons. Yes, I admit it is a little bit grimey, but its central location, epic park benches and activities have always drawn me back. During the summer they do screenings of movies like The Warriors and Pee Wee’s Big Adventure and towards the winter it transforms into more of a park for epic snow play time (if we ever get any). If you are looking for a park closer to the Greenwich Village Campus, look no further than Washington Square Park. Though somewhat dominated by NYU students, Washington Square’s fountain and spacious grassy lawns makes up for its large student population. If you ever need of some green time in between class, seek no further than Washington Square.

Other parks I suggest are usually the ones that are more located on the rivers of New York City. Usually these parks have both great views and a lot of green space and activity spaces. No longer do you have to run the busy streets for exercise – you just need to cross the bridge on Avenue D to reach East River Park, which spands from 14th Street to Delancey Street. And for those of us in the outer boroughs Brooklyn and Queens both have lovely river side parks that allow for awesome views of New York City.

Though we are constantly busy as New Yorkers, a little green time is always something that is needed on the weekends or after a rough day of classes. There’s nothing like doodling, reading, drinking coffee, avoiding homework or rolling around in the grass like in a park. So wander around and find the perfect park for you!

About Katie

Hi there y'all! My name is Katie and I am an Admissions Counselor here at Parsons. I am a recent graduate of Parsons, I majored in illustration and I am currently getting my Associates degree in Graphic Design. When I'm not at Parsons, I am a avid baseball watcher, park sitter, book lover and an aspiring hoarder.

Leave a Reply

