What To Do When…

So it’s been a week or so and a lot of you new students should be getting used to life in the big apple, and Parsons as well. But sometimes you find yourself not knowing what to do in certain situations around campus.

College Central, a great resource for job searching students!

What to do when you’re looking for a job?
Whether it’s a job or internship I would definitely recommend first going through Parsons Career Services. My freshman year when I decided to get a job they helped me spruce up my resume and directed me to College Central. I can’t stress enough how awesome of a resource College Central is! I’d say pretty much every internship/job I’ve had here in New York was through this site (it helped me land this gig as well)!

Sushi at Lang Cafe!

What to do when you’re hungry?
It’s kind of a self-explanatory question, right? When you’re hungry, get something to eat! But sometimes Chipotle and Murray’s Bagels just don’t cut it. Believe it or not The New School has some great food options of our own. You can get sushi made fresh right in front of you at Lang Café. Grab some Starbucks brewed coffee in the lobby of Arnold Hall or go upstairs to the 4th floor for more hot food options and, of course, there is the cafeteria at 13th street!

When to do when you’re sick?
Last year I had an allergic reaction and even though it went away within the hour I still wanted to take a trip to the doctor to make sure everything was fine. I was pleasantly surprised to find that The New School Health Services were not like my high school nurse’s office but are like an actual doctor’s office with actual doctors.

Washington Square Park

What to do when you have free time in between classes?
We’ve all been there, those days when you don’t really have any homework and you don’t really have time to go home, what do you do? Where do you go? It’s kind of awkward. Last semester I started to really utilize the Lang courtyard, which is an awesome place to hang out, meet up with friends or do whatever. On nice days WSP (Washington Square Park) is a great place to relax as well!

New School Study Center

What to do when its time to do work!
I can always find a spot around campus to set up my laptop and get some work done; but, lets face it, I’m easily distracted. So because of this when I know its time to really get some work done I’ll decide not to sit in the lobby of 2 West 13th St. and head over to the Student Study Center on the 2nd floor of 90 Fifth Ave. It’s super quiet, and they stay open pretty late!

What to do when you’re feeling stressed?
School work can totally be overwhelming at times so if you’re feeling stressed be sure to give yourself a little r&r. The New School offers Group Fitness Classes including Yoga,  and also free accupressure!

About Lauren

Hey all! I am currently a junior at Parsons in the Integrated Design fashion program. You can usually find me creating or making things, I love a great D.I.Y. Other favorite activities of mine include thrifting, consuming frozen yogurt, dancing and discovering new music!

Leave a Reply

