Tips for the “New” New Yorker: Apartment Must-Haves

For the past two weeks my life has been filled with packing boxes, U-Haul trucks, scotch tape and sheer, unadulterated summer sweat. Yes, as you may have guessed, I recently have made the big move from Manhattan to Queens. Like all good New Yorkers, I have moved about four times within the past four years, and I have consequently become a good packer and an even better organizer. On this last move, I have noticed four consistent items that every good New York apartment needs, and I thought to myself, what a good tip for new New Yorkers!

What a look! Twinkle lights on my bed!

Extension Cords and Outlet Converters – Most New York apartments were built before the turn of the century, meaning electricity or convenient outlets were never a high priority. So here’s a fun game to play when you move into a New York apartment: Where’s The Outlet?  A good round of this will help you get fully settled! Also like most good outlets from 1915, they are only two pronged so getting an outlet converter to a three prong helps a bunch. Then if you get a squid extension cord (with surge protection), you should be set!

Lock-Ease and Pliers – Once again, you have to remember most New York apartments are not fully updated – including the locks.  So they will get stuck, jammed and fight with you every day so you can’t get your door open. Lock-Ease greases the lock, which is a good temporary fix, to make sure everything is still turning and generally working. I also like to keep pliers in my mailbox just in case my lock decides to eat my key and I need to rip it out – so pliers come in handy often. These two things are a Mrs. Fix-It guide to keeping your lock under control.

Candles and Christmas lights – Some people may call me cheap (a.k.a my roommate) but I like to say I’m thrifty. Using candles and Christmas twinkle lights not only add a touch of whimsy to a room, but they also save you mucho money on the electric bill. I usually save maybe 30 dollars a month by not using the fluorescent lights or keeping everything plugged in all the time. Candles may be a little much sometimes, I can admit, but Christmas lights are forever charming

Tension Curtain Rods– I will praise tension curtain rods as long as I live here because they are God’s gift to New Yorkers. Who wants to drill holes in the wall to hang a curtain rod? No one. Tension curtain rods make it easy to hang curtains, quickly and cheaply (for like 6 bucks cheap). You can also bring them along to your next apartment so they are never a wasted investment!

Happy moving!

About Katie

Hi there y'all! My name is Katie and I am an Admissions Counselor here at Parsons. I am a recent graduate of Parsons, I majored in illustration and I am currently getting my Associates degree in Graphic Design. When I'm not at Parsons, I am a avid baseball watcher, park sitter, book lover and an aspiring hoarder.

4 comments

  1. Great tips! Very helpful!

  2. Really awesome web site, this truly answered some of my questions. Thank you!.

  3. I discovered your blog on google and check out a few of your early articles. Continue with the very good posts. Ill likely be by again to read more, thanks for the post!.

  4. You decidedly put a new twist on a topic that’s been written about for years. Amazing stuff, just great! I enjoy reading a post that will make people think, thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner also.

Leave a Reply

