Hidden Quiet Gems of The New School

Though a natural social butterfly, sometimes I need some alone study time and lucky for me (and well, I guess you), The New School has some of the best secret nooks and crannies around. After four years of laboring and stumbling onto these secluded spots on campus, I am finally willing to spill my last nuggets of wisdom. But do not take advantage of such beautiful, quiet places or before you know it, it’ll look like the craziness of the 3rd Floor Computer Lab of Arnold Hall. Check out the campus map to follow along and you’ll know exactly where these spots are once you get here.

12th Floor Drawing Studio in 2 West 13th Street– During the day, of course, this floor is hopping with every freshman Foundation class you can dream of. Yet, after 6:00 p.m., the floor becomes completely still – perfect for a drawing dance party. It was my favorite place to go to during my thesis and end of semester finals (during my 24 hour slumber parties at Parsons). Not only is it quiet and full of drawing desks, it also comes equipped with a tremendous projector – or what I like to call it my very own flatscreen TV (invest in Netflix, now).

The 2nd  Floor Scanning Stations in Gimbel Art and Design Library– I have already shouted my love for the library (the backed magazine catalogue is one of my favorite places), but not its second floor. In my Foundation year, it used to be where all the pictures on file were located, but now after much improvement it holds a couple scanners and a photocopier. Somehow this second floor has remained a mystery to most, maybe because no one quite realizes it’s actually there. But it’s the best place to go when you have quiet research or need to scan something real quick in between classes. It’s a hidden gem that took me three years to realize its greatness.

The 9th Floor of Arnold Hall – When it comes finals time and you have to spend like 20 hours in the computer lab don’t head automatically for the 3rd or 8th Floors. These main computer labs are often full with not only Parsons kids but a ton of Lang kids writing papers and then some Jazz kids thrown into the mix as well. Why fight for a computer when you can go to a classroom on the 9th Floor and enjoy  some solitude and not have to witness the tears of the kid who just lost their final three hours before it’s due? Also, never become that kid. Back up your work regularly!

Laundry Room of Loeb Residence Hall– So this may never have been a good place to study but it was a terrific quiet time location on weekend mornings. You probably know art school kids (or college kids in general) don’t wake up until 1:00 in the afternoon on the weekend. Both unfortunately and fortunately for me, I am an early riser. I used to wake up at 8:00 a.m. on the weekend and do my laundry straight away in the dorms – meaning I never had to wait for the next open washer or dryer (or get the one with someone else’s left-over smelly clothing item). Dorms are like a ghost towns when you get up that early, meaning you can look grimy but no one will know – except maybe the security guard – and you can do all the wash you like. Add a cup of coffee to a laundry Sunday, and well, you got yourself the perfect amount of alone time to get your day started.

About Katie

Hi there y'all! My name is Katie and I am an Admissions Counselor here at Parsons. I am a recent graduate of Parsons, I majored in illustration and I am currently getting my Associates degree in Graphic Design. When I'm not at Parsons, I am a avid baseball watcher, park sitter, book lover and an aspiring hoarder.

Leave a Reply

