The Summer Before College

Spend your last weeks at home wisely!

The summer before I left for Parsons I was probably home for less than a month. Even during this time I was more than ready to go, ready to leave my small Midwest city (St. Louis, what up?) for the big city. But I came to realize that this was going to be my last time actually living at home and there were things that I needed to do and people to see. So while you’re sitting in your room counting the days till your big move, embrace your time at home, and check out the list of things I suggest doing before leaving, along with some awesome photography from Parsons Integrated Design junior Guang Xu.

Florence and the Machine in Central Park.

Go to a Summer Concert
Take advantage of your time at home and with your friends and go to concerts, shows or any events going on. Even if your hometown is pretty boring like mine, chances are there are usually lots of things happening during the summer. The last show I went to back home was a free Lupe Fiasco concert – definitely memorable.

Waffles and bacon, mmm, bacon.

Learn to Cook
While you’re probably itching to leave and would rather be anywhere other than home, learning to cook is definitely a worthwhile investment. I would totally suggest spending a little time with mom or dad in the kitchen because pasta and grilled cheese gets old. Trust me.

Enjoying one of my favorite pastimes.

Sleep
Along with spending time at home, I suggest sleeping, I mean, you are moving to the city that never sleeps. For students, ahem, a Parsons student, sleep is a luxury. Get as much of it while you can.

Singer sewing machine.

Hone your skills
Since you have a lot more free time right now than you will come fall, I definitely suggest honing your skills in whatever you may be struggling with, or just so you don’t become rusty. If it’s drawing, try taking a figure drawing class. No one’s expecting first time freshmen to come in being perfect, but practice never hurts.

Cute cat.

Spend Time with your Pets
Nowhere on this list does it mention spending time with family, or friends but obviously that’s a given. And this may be just as, if not more, important. Love your pets as much as you can, because nothing is more depressing than coming home during winter break to a pet that doesn’t recognize you.

Somewhere, USA.

Road Trip with your Friends
This is something that has always been on my to-do list but I never get around to it. Go somewhere, for a day, a couple of days or a week with your friends from home as one last hoo-rah before you all leave.

My roommate and I bonding with watermelon.

Get to Know your Roommate
If you haven’t already, you will be getting your roommate assignments soon and even if you don’t know the person your living with, get to know them, even if it’s—virtually. Friend them on ENGAGE (the New School’s online community for accepted students), plan a Skype date, e-mail, or anything else the interwebs have to offer. When you arrive, you guys will already have some sort of a relationship and that makes the first week a lot less awkward.

Try some of these out and above all else, just make the most out of your last weeks of summer!

About Lauren

Hey all! I am currently a junior at Parsons in the Integrated Design fashion program. You can usually find me creating or making things, I love a great D.I.Y. Other favorite activities of mine include thrifting, consuming frozen yogurt, dancing and discovering new music!

Leave a Reply

