Tips for the “New” New Yorker: Staying Cool

This is my new super short weekly Thursday posting called “Tips for the ‘New’ New Yorker.” So on Thursdays, I am going to post some quick tid bits on everything you can possibly do in New York City, on the cheap, on the sly and, sometimes, on the run. Stay tuned dear readers, for Thursday is going to be your new favorite day of the week.  But more importantly my tip for this week below!

Nothing Like taking a dip in the Fountain at Washington Square!

New New Yorkers, as of now New York City is in a mega heat wave causing many natives to run for the Hamptons. But us true New Yorkers brave the heat while sticking to concrete sidewalks, wearing nothing but linen and sitting by the Washington Square Park water fountain for some relief. However, there’s another cheap way to get out of the heat and into some cold blasting air conditioning – go to the movies!

My new favorite past time is going to the movies in the morning with a pastry from the local Jewish Deli and a cup of joe. But hey, aren’t movies expensive? Oh contraire my dear friends- movies at all AMC theaters are just six bucks before noon. Let me repeat that: movies are just SIX DOLLARS before noon at ALL AMC Loews movie theaters! That means you can go, see a new movie and sit in a quiet movie theater all by yourself – oh and let’s not forget the air conditioning included in this deal. If you like to sleep in and hate getting up before three in the afternoon, City Cinemas East (located on 2nd Avenue and 12th Street) offers a student special deal on Tuesdays that is seven dollars and includes a free popcorn. So don’t spend 14 dollars going to the movies. Just wake up a little earlier or wait until Tuesday to have a night out!

About Katie

Hi there y'all! My name is Katie and I am an Admissions Counselor here at Parsons. I am a recent graduate of Parsons, I majored in illustration and I am currently getting my Associates degree in Graphic Design. When I'm not at Parsons, I am a avid baseball watcher, park sitter, book lover and an aspiring hoarder.

Leave a Reply

