Adventures at the Met, Parsons Style!

It’s hard for me to express how much I love the Metropolitan Museum of Art or how I lovingly call it, The Met. It’s been a home away from home, an escape, a bathroom when in need, a source of inspiration and a place to draw. Here at Parsons, most of us never realized when we applied that we’d basically live in the museums during the first couple of years. Going to MoMA, the Guggenheim, P.S. 1, the Frick and, of course the Met, is all part of the Foundation curriculum in classes like Perspectives of World Art and Design and Drawing. Most students tend to love MoMA – I mean with its contemporary flare and film nights (and free admission for all New School students) it’s easy to adore.

Some of my favorite pieces at the Met!

Yet, I love the Met. Maybe it’s the shameless part of me that still has this burning desire to be an impressionist painter or my love of American joinery furniture – I keep coming back. The Met has everything from Egyptian mummies to Medieval armor to Degas’s Ballerinas and then onto Mark Rothko.

My freshmen perspective drawing view.

One day is never enough to fully explore the Met, but lucky for us Parsons students, you’ll never just go there once for a class. I remember in my Foundation Drawing class our big mid-term was an 18x 24 inch perspective pencil drawing of the Met’s sculpture garden. Though we went there twice for class, I could never finish so I would go back for two to three hours a couple times a week.  By the time I finished the drawing, I knew half the security guards at the Met. Besides drawing, you’ll write papers and do research for art history classes. My personal favorite paper was on the encaustic Egyptian mummy portraits, the Met has like six of these beauties!

What a view, you can’t complain……..

A afternoon trip to the Met can not be complete with a little excursion to Central Park. So don’t forget to bring your sketchbook and some snacks and enjoy a sit by the pond!

About Katie

Hi there y'all! My name is Katie and I am an Admissions Counselor here at Parsons. I am a recent graduate of Parsons, I majored in illustration and I am currently getting my Associates degree in Graphic Design. When I'm not at Parsons, I am a avid baseball watcher, park sitter, book lover and an aspiring hoarder.

Leave a Reply

