Best of NYC: Food Trucks

For all you foodies out there, this post is for you! In New York at some point you will inevitably run into a food truck. No, not just the hot dog and halal food stands; but, trucks serving delicious waffles, tacos, burgers, cupcakes, etc. However, not all food trucks are created equal, and it can be hard to judge whether or not something is just plain ol’ street meat. I’ve compiled a list of some of my favorite food trucks around the city. If you’re not hungry now, you will be. 

1. Taim Mobile

For all you vegans, vegetarians and falafel lovers out there this truck is a definite must. I stumbled upon the Taim food truck by chance one day and have been in love ever since.  Oh and I forgot to mention it’s a smoothie bar as well so after you have a falafel or hummus sandwich grab a strawberry-raspberry-thai basil smoothie to go with it!

2. Big Gay Ice Cream Truck

I’ve actually never been to this truck; but I have been to the Big Gay Ice Cream Shop in the East Village and I can only imagine the truck being just as good! With lines wrapping around the corner I had to see what this place was about and it did not disappoint. Try the chocolately, caramel drizzled soft-serve cone pictured above known as The Salty Pimp or my other favorites Mermaid (with key lime curd and crushed graham crackers) and American Globs (with pretzels and chocolate). And if cones aren’t your thing try one of their shakes or floats!

3. Milk Truck

Grilled Cheese? Yes. Gourmet grilled cheese? Yes please. When I am in the mood for some cheesy-carb goodness (when am I not?) I’ll definitely hunt down this truck. A twist on a classic childhood favorite but for grown-ups! Also be sure to grab one of their milkshakes to go with it!

4. Endless Summer Tacos

I visit the West Coast frequently, and because of this I am a Mexican food snob. I mean, not all tacos are created equal and here on the East Coast a good taco can be hard to come by. But, I love the food truck that is Endless Summer. Situated on the north side of Williamsburg, Brooklyn this truck is great after a long night or whenever your getting a Mexican food craving!

5. Wafel & Dinges

You can almost always find this truck in the Union Square or East Village area, and trust me, I’m not complaining. I hunt down this truck like it’s my job—it’s just that good.  The Wafels & Dinges truck is definitely a treat. I usually get a liege wafel topped with the deliciousness that is their famous speculoos spread (made from shortbread cookies), strawberries, bananas, walnuts, and a dab of whipped cream. I usually get the same thing every time, but I hear they’ve got a bacon-syrup wafel, which I’m sure is as amazing as it sounds!

About Lauren

Hey all! I am currently a junior at Parsons in the Integrated Design fashion program. You can usually find me creating or making things, I love a great D.I.Y. Other favorite activities of mine include thrifting, consuming frozen yogurt, dancing and discovering new music!

Leave a Reply

