We’re Going Coney Island to Grab Ourselves a Dog

It’s a shame Parsons freshmen don’t move in sooner than mid-August because summer has always been my favorite season of city living (besides fall – you can’t miss fall in New York City).  While New York summers are synonymous with that dreaded heat and humidity, we do get to experience outdoor movies, park picnics, bike rides and, of course,  Coney Island trips. I always forget how much I love Coney Island until I step off the last subway stop, get a glimpse of the Cyclone (a New York City landmark), and all of sudden I feel like a kid again. For being only 45 minutes away from downtown Manhattan you are transported to someplace that isn’t New York, a beach – an actual beach!

Now Coney Island may not have the best beach in the world, trust me if you’ve been to other beaches beside the Jersey Shore, it’s going to be a huge let down. And yes, going to the beach on Coney Island is half the fun, but the other half is the environment. The weirdest and most interesting people are always on Coney Island, whether it’s the freak show or just the people who have been there for years – everyone has a story. Also there is so much to do from going on the Cyclone to walking down the boardwalk.

But really, my ideal day at Coney Island, is first stopping at Nathan’s Famous not only because this location was the first, but because the bacon cheese fries are to die for (I know hot dogs are the main draw, but wait until you try the fries). The lines can be kind of long, so be prepared to wait. It’s worth it, and always get some lemonade! After devouring Nathan’s, my friends usually like to go on the Cyclone – I personally hate roller coasters, so I get to hold all the stuff. The 85 year old Cyclone is a classic wooden roller coaster that’s a real throw back to Coney’s golden years, so it’s a must if you like that sort of thing. To close my night out, I have to go to a Brooklyn Cyclones game, a minor league baseball team on boardwalk. Talk about a cheap place to go to in the city; most tickets are 10 dollars and come with a free t-shirt or something. It’s fun even for people who don’t like baseball, because they have a ton of fun little games in between innings and lots of good eats. You can never be bored at a Cyclones game!

To end a day at Coney, I like to go to the beach. All the day trippers have gone and only a couple people are left on the beach but the sand has cooled off and the water is perfect.  Just a quick dip before walking the sandy walk back to the subway and returning back to my Manhattan.

So to everyone visiting the New York area in the summertime, it’s an absolute must – like, don’t visit the Empire State Building, go to Coney Island. And to our freshmen who’ll move into the dorms in a month and a half, you have a chance to get your swimsuit on and head out to experience some of the best Brooklyn can offer!

About Katie

Hi there y'all! My name is Katie and I am an Admissions Counselor here at Parsons. I am a recent graduate of Parsons, I majored in illustration and I am currently getting my Associates degree in Graphic Design. When I'm not at Parsons, I am a avid baseball watcher, park sitter, book lover and an aspiring hoarder.

Leave a Reply

