Freshman take on Foundation Year

Foundation year is a great time to not only get to know new people; but also, get to know yourself better as an artist. Many of you incoming foundation students are probably wondering what freshman year will be like and what some of the challenges may be. To give you all a first hand account of what the year was like, (since I myself did not take foundation year) I chatted with some freshman who just finished up the year on their foundation experiences.

Meet the Freshman!
Name: Matt W.
Hometown: Brooklyn, NY
Intended Major: Fashion Design

Lauren Davis: Your first year in college is always exciting; specifically, what was your favorite part about foundation year?

Matt: I loved first semester when we were all in sections; it was the same 17 kids in all four of your studio classes. That was a really great way to meet new people and you really bonded with the other students because you were with them like 20 hours a week.

Will: For me it was just getting exposure to so many people with so many different interests. I think just being around people who had similar goals and career directions as myself helped solidify the field I am going into as well.

Deidre: Definitely getting to meet tons of different artists from all over the country and all over the world! The New School has such a great population of international students and just being around so many creative people at one time was awesome, because I know where I’m from I never really got that.

Meet the Freshman!
Name: Will J.
Hometown: Washington D.C
Intended Major: BAFA Illustration/Cultural & Media Studies

Meet the Freshman!
Name: Deidre G.
Hometown: Long Island, NY
Intended Major: Fashion Design

LD: For those of you not from the New York Tri-State area, how was it adjusting to life in the Big Apple?

Will: I’m from D.C, which is a really urban place, so it wasn’t that hard to get used to the subways and walking around with masses amounts of people.

Ryan: It was very different for me since I am from Atlanta. The hardest thing for me was getting used to the subway trains because I didn’t really like it at first, but its fine now because I am more accustomed to it. It takes a couple of weeks but you’ll definitely get used to the city.

Meet the Freshman!
Name: Ryan S.
Hometown: Atlanta, GA
Intended Major: BAFA Fashion Design/Education Studies

LD: What was the most challenging part about your first year?

Israel: I think making the transition from high school to college was difficult for me. You also have to get used to living somewhere else. If your going to dorm you have to cook for yourself, clean for yourself and on top of that you have roommates as well.

Matt: Probably our 3-D course because it really forces you to work with new materials. I was not that experienced working with wood or metal and that’s mainly what that class is about. So it just really pushes you to try new things and work in new directions.

Deidre: For me, it was challenging getting used to all the different studio classes that we had. Getting adjusted to the long classes and also just getting used to thinking about art in different ways.

Will: You’re in classes with people who do really excellent work and sometimes you feel as though you have to compete. It’s a healthy competition and it pushes you to bring you’re A game and then some. It pushes you to be better and up the quality of whatever it is that you are doing each time.

Ryan: I would definitely say it’s… I didn’t get enough sleep.

Meet the Freshman!
Name: Israel F.
Hometown: Scotch Plains, NJ
Intended Major: Architecture

LD: Since you’ve all survived your first year, what advice do you have for incoming freshman and foundation students?

Matt: I’m sure lots of people will say this but it’s really important that you manage your time. Time management is the most important thing. There is a lot of work and I know it’ll be hard in the beginning, it was for me, but you’ll get adjusted.

Deidre: Stay on top of your work because most of your projects are long-term projects. You have to really be able to balance all 6 of your classes.

Israel: Well, you have this whole summer to learn how to cook and a lot of our dorms at New School have kitchens.  It is New York City and the food can get expensive. It’s a great start, since this is the time to start growing up.

Ryan: Stay strong! Be determined and if you have the drive you will get what you want.

Will: I would say the best thing you can be at school your first year is a sponge. Let things happen and absorb it in. Pay attention and see what is out there for you, let it all soak in.

I Hope this insight helped some of you incoming freshman! See you all in the fall!

About Lauren

Hey all! I am currently a junior at Parsons in the Integrated Design fashion program. You can usually find me creating or making things, I love a great D.I.Y. Other favorite activities of mine include thrifting, consuming frozen yogurt, dancing and discovering new music!

Leave a Reply

