Neighborhood Tour: East Village

Union Square

I’ve decided to start a new series called “Neighborhood Tour” where I take you readers through some of my favorite neighborhoods in New York through the eyes of a college student.

For the first Neighborhood Tour I decided to start off with the East Village: it’s been my hood for the past two years, and it has been pretty great. Home to two New School dorms (“Stuy” & Loeb) and just overall one of the best neighborhoods in New York (I’m biased, obviously). Take a peek at some of my favorites in the area and when you find yourself in the neighborhood, you’ll know everywhere to go just like a pro.

All photography of food/shots around the East Village is brought to you courtesy of student Guang Xu (Integrated Design ’14).

A mouth-watering slice of artichoke pizza from Artichoke!

Eats

Artichoke
Some of the most delicious and unique pizza you will have! My favorite, of course, is the artichoke pizza, but they also have a crab and other yummy options as well.

Neptune
I love this little Polish-American restaurant! They also spell their name wrong on the outside, which cracks me up every time. The garden in the back is also great during the warmer months.

Food at Neptune

Milon
A tiny cramped indian restaurant with tons of chili pepper lights everywhere! I like it more for the decor, but the food is good too!

Bodhi Tree
Awesome Thai restaurant with a $7 lunch special that you can’t beat!

Bodega in East Village

Shops

Strand Book Store
Famous book store and can also be seen in this hilarious YouTube video

Avenue A Flea
I’ve posted about this gem before – so awesome and you never know what you may find.

Dick Blick/ Utrecht
It’s inevitable that as a Parsons student you will end up at one of these art stores. Might as well get familiar…

Restaurant with outdoor seating on St. Marks Place.

Places to Go

St. Marks Place
One of the most well-known streets in New York, St. Marks has everything from quirky shops, restaurants, and even karaoke. The St. Marks Bookshop is also great!

Creative Little Garden
Such a chill place to read, draw, listen to music, or just escape from the chaos of New York!

Tompkins Square Park
Located in the heart of Alphabet City, this park is one of my favorites. There’s so much energy here and it is definitely different and unique than many other parks in the city.

Apartment building in East Village

Next time your around the East Village check out these spots and keep checking back for more Neighborhood Tours!

About Lauren

Hey all! I am currently a junior at Parsons in the Integrated Design fashion program. You can usually find me creating or making things, I love a great D.I.Y. Other favorite activities of mine include thrifting, consuming frozen yogurt, dancing and discovering new music!

One comment

  1. bustinjieber

    that pizza looks so good

Leave a Reply

