Graduation, A Look Back…

As many of you know, I am graduating this year – Thursday at one o’clock to be precise and with this daunting step ahead of me, I’ve been looking back on my 4 years at Parsons.  So instead of just writing about my look back, I decided to take a more creative step and write a letter to my freshmen self reminiscing about all the things to come. Corny, I know but helpful tips hidden for freshmen, so I hope you enjoy dear blog followers.

Embarrassing, yes. But on the left my freshmen I.D photo and on the right a picture at 4 A.M on my last Parsons all-nighter.

Dear Freshmen Katie,

As I graduate and look ahead, I look back to August 21, 2008 when you moved into Loeb Hall scared to death of what laid ahead for the next four years. Instead of hiding away, step out of that comfort zone and meet new people, embrace others – they will be your greatest friends for the next four years of your life. Don’t rely on friends from home to always be there, because they can’t and will be moving on as well. Be nice to your roommates, even if it’s hard, and be nice to everyone on the floor (especially Mary for in four years she will be your closest friend at Parsons).

And when you go to class, don’t go with the pack. Accept that you are different, that you draw differently from anyone else and make it yours – it will take you 4 years to realize this when you could have done it from the start. Try everything (meaning go to the 3D foundation shop and learn to saw a piece of wood), go to the workshops to learn more, and force yourself to stay late Fridays to go to extra drawing hours. Don’t get frustrated at 4 am while making polyhedrons and end up stapling them together, because your teacher, Adam Brent, will laugh his butt off.  But also don’t be so militant; dinner doesn’t always have to be at 7 o’clock, go out and have fun every now again, or just leave your room every once and a while. If you never leave you won’t get to experience some of the best times of your college career and some of the silliest.

Meeting people and creating those strong ties will be the best thing you’ve ever done. So get out there, show your humor and creativity to those around you. Go to the other schools and meet people from Lang and Jazz, for they will introduce you to new things and people. Be nice to everyone in the Illustration Department –though I find it hard that you wouldn’t be nice, since everyone in that major is lovely and you’ll miss them dearly. Get to know your teachers, don’t be afraid to take a class the ‘difficult’ teacher because when you’re in the class, you’ll make your best work.  Oh and try coffee, you’ll eventually live off it, believe it or not.

Never forget your roots, call your parents more than you do; over the years your family will change, so appreciate them now. Invest in Gladware because your mother will pack you with more leftovers than you will ever need.  Also all your international roommates will love her when she bakes cookies, so let her.

Most of all have fun, don’t take things too seriously – it is art school after all. And you will succeed, but the failures are what you learn the most from, so let things go sometimes.

Best of luck homegirl! You’ll do fine so stop shaking.

– Future Katie

About Katie

Hi there y'all! My name is Katie and I am an Admissions Counselor here at Parsons. I am a recent graduate of Parsons, I majored in illustration and I am currently getting my Associates degree in Graphic Design. When I'm not at Parsons, I am a avid baseball watcher, park sitter, book lover and an aspiring hoarder.

Leave a Reply

