Tips for Surviving Finals

As many of you may know, it is exam time here at Parsons and The New School. Computer labs are packed, kids are stressed, and sleep is very hard to come by. I’ve decided to offer some of my tips to not only survive, but conquer exams and finals. Check them out below as well as the hilarious photos of Parsons kids sleeping around school, courtesy of Lab Bums.

Exhausted students napping in the Parsons lobby.

Practice Time Management.
The first and most obvious tip is to properly manage your time! Final exams and projects during the end of the semester last over a span of 1-2 weeks, and while you can stay up late to write that paper you procrastinated on or to study for an exam; projects (which are  more common here at Parsons) are much harder to procrastinate on and definitely require good prioritizing and time management. I speak from experience when I say this. Definitely do as I say not as I do.

Take Breaks!
Don’t forget you need to breathe! Even if it’s just for an hour, it’s important to give yourself time to rest your eyes from the computer screen or from a project you’ve been slaving away over. Its also good to take a break because you come back to whatever you’ve been working on with a new perspective or maybe a new surge of inspiration.

A student putting the woodshop at Parsons to good use.

Stock Up on Snacks.
Snacks are a great way to keep you energized when you get late night munchies. Lay off the Dorritos and doughnuts; healthy snacks are definitely  best when you’re studying/working.  My favorite during finals is trail mix. Sweet, salty, and delicious.

Keyboards make great pillows too.

Create an Amazing Playlist.
Music is definitely something that keeps when going when my eyelids are feeling heavy, and I just want to fall asleep on my keyboard (see the photo above). But, I like to keep my carefully curated Pandora stations in rotation or make a great playlist to keep me going.

Log Off!
Sign out of all types of social media!  Seriously, sign out of Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, etc. And if you lack in self-control (like me) have a friend change your password or something for you. It will be much easier to concentrate on the tasks at hand without any added distractions.

Another student taking a nap in the lobby

Keep these tips in mind and good luck to everyone on their final exams!

About Lauren

Hey all! I am currently a junior at Parsons in the Integrated Design fashion program. You can usually find me creating or making things, I love a great D.I.Y. Other favorite activities of mine include thrifting, consuming frozen yogurt, dancing and discovering new music!

Leave a Reply

