Show Me Your Sketchbook: Thi Wan

Sketchbooks are definitely important for every artist as a great way to develop ideas or just to have fun and fool around. Everyone’s sketching processes are unique and different. Some are more detailed than others, some like to use pen, others prefer mixed media, and the list goes on.

I recently decided to rifle through my friend Thi’s (pronounced Thai), a junior in Communication Design, sketchbook from his Foundation Year at Parsons and ask him about his process of sketchbooking (new word!).

Lauren Davis: Your sketches are all really different and a lot are mixed media as well, what inspires you when you are sketching?
Thi Wan: I’m inspired by a lot of different things, mainly everyday life. I think really cinematically as well so that is translated into a lot of my work. I’m also very inspired by anatomy. I almost went to medical school instead of Parsons, so that is definitely something that can be seen in my drawings.

LD: In order for a lot of people to get the creative juices flowing where they sketch is important. What places do you like to go?
TW: The subway is definitely one of my favorite places to sketch. I like sketching people there especially because they have to sit without a choice. I also like to sketch really early in the morning when I first wake up and I might sketch a dream or something that I had.

LD: Sketchbooks to a lot of people may seem trivial and silly, but why do you think they are actually so important?
TW: Sketchbooks are like your own visual diary. The good, the bad, and even silly ones are all great to look back at. Sometimes my own sketches even inspire me. It’s the perfect place to just let loose and experiment. No one is judging or critiquing you.

LD: Being that you’re almost a senior, which is really exciting, what future plans do you have?
TW: I am currently working on various fashion related projects. I love Communication Design and although it is not the typical career path someone chooses from that major it has surprisingly helped me a lot with my brand! 

Big thanks to Thi for participating and if you’d like to see more of his work check out ThiWan.com!

About Lauren

Hey all! I am currently a junior at Parsons in the Integrated Design fashion program. You can usually find me creating or making things, I love a great D.I.Y. Other favorite activities of mine include thrifting, consuming frozen yogurt, dancing and discovering new music!

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Thesis Recap: Evelyn Tao | PARSONS ADMISSIONS

Leave a Reply

