Cupcakes are so Four Years Ago: The Emergence of the Doughnut

Deserts in New York are like fashion fads: one year cake may be in, but the next pie has taken it’s place. For the past couple of years cupcakes have exploded as the desert of choice, with stores like Magnolia’s Bakery, Crumbs, and Butter Lane taking a strong hold on the sweet market. But this portable portioned sized desert couldn’t stop from eventually being taken over by the American classic, the doughnut.

Perhaps you’ve always seen donuts as a lower level desert, or even a breakfast item.  Yet the masters at Doughnut Plant have taken a new spin on an old classic. Bringing fresh ingredients and new flavors to the table, the doughnut has never been so delectable.  Located in Chelsea, the Lower East Side, and Brooklyn, Doughnut Plant seems to be always happening, with flavors like tres leche, hazelnut, and pineapple; it’s hard to resist popping on by.

Now I’ve never been a huge doughnut person – I’m the kind of person who can’t take sweets in the morning. So when I got out of my internship at three in the afternoon, I decided it was the perfect time to try these highly recommended deserts.  I hiked on over through Chinatown and Little Italy and there it sat, right on Grand Street. The store itself is a bit small and well super hot considering the ovens. I walked in already thinking about the blueberry doughnuts but apparently it was already sold out. I wasn’t in a chocolate mood so I went for the vanilla glaze with blackberry jam, because how can one say no to blackberry jam?

I walked home with my little gem in hand, saving it of course for a cold glass of milk. I get home, open my window to let in the beautiful air, get my milk, and turn on the T.V. It was the perfect ending to a long interning day. The doughnut itself isn’t too sweet, but sweet enough without being sickening. A cakey exterior and a doughy inside create a good consistency. The best part of this donut is the jam , it’s not that  awful kid of watery jam that you usually find in donuts. It’s like a mix of strawberry and blueberry jams.  With a cold glass of milk the doughnut was delicious. The unfortunate side of this is that Doughnut Plant is a bit expensive for one donut. Really when you can get your sweet fix at a donut shop for 75 cents, splurging and spending three dollars for a fancy donut may be a bit much sometimes. These doughnuts should be eaten on special occasions, dates, or friends that come into the city. This will not be my everyday donut but I can’t see why it can’t be my every two months donut?

About Katie

Hi there y'all! My name is Katie and I am an Admissions Counselor here at Parsons. I am a recent graduate of Parsons, I majored in illustration and I am currently getting my Associates degree in Graphic Design. When I'm not at Parsons, I am a avid baseball watcher, park sitter, book lover and an aspiring hoarder.

Leave a Reply

