A Day in the Life

For those of you wondering what an average Parsons student does on a regular class day, look no further because I have logged all the interesting (and not so interesting) aspects of my busy day for you all! Enjoy!

View from my dorm room window when I woke up! // Fellow Parsons students walking to class.

February 21, 2012.

7:30 AM
I wake up for my History of Graphic Design class which starts at 9am. Pretty sure I pressed the snooze button around 2-3 times. It’s kind of nice having classes in the morning so that you have more free time during the rest of the day, but man it is still SO early.

8:00 AM
My suitemate and I eat breakfast together at the table in the suite of our dorm. She has Frosted Flakes and I have an everything bagel with butter – we’re fancy.

8:40 AM
I walk to school from my dorm along with a dozen other Parsons kids who all share my same commute. 

8:55 AM
Finally at school, but realizing I should have left a little bit earlier because the elevator lines in the Parsons building are definitely no joke!

9:00 – 10:30 AM
In class, I did a short presentation about psychedelic art, I think it went well!

Me cheesing outside of the Parsons building on 13th street. // My favorite place to get a snack during breaks, Mapi!

10:35 AM
Our professor gives a 15 minute break in the middle of class to get coffee, food or whatever. I head over to my favorite and most convenient spot, Mapi, for a quick bite to take back to class.

11:40 AM
First class is over and I have quite some time before my next class. I’m thinking about heading over to the Barneys Warehouse Sale which is only a couple of blocks away (so tempting…), but I think i’ll go grab lunch instead at the Arnold Hall cafe just down the block instead.

Lunch rush hour at the Arnold Hall Cafe. // Catching up with my friend Justin in between classes.

12:00 PM
Ate some delicious sushi from the cafe using my meal plan card. Would have taken a picture but didn’t remember to until it was all gone!

12:45 PM
My friend Ashley and I walk around Washington Square Park for a bit because it just so happens to be a super nice day out!

Went to Washington Square Park in between classes with my friend/classmate Ashley!

3:00 – 5:40 PM
Class time. Learning time.

6:00 PM
Home. Finally. Long day. Take nap.

7:00 PM
I cook a delicious meal. Er, who am I kidding, I ordered a delicious meal from an Indian restaurant not too far from my dorm.

7:30 – 9:00 PM
Studying for Intro to Design quiz, sewing, etc.

9:00 – 10:00 PM
Hall council meeting in the basement of my dorm. We discuss new programs we’d like to do for the spring semester and other cool top secret stuff.

Dorm floor get togethers! Snacking and chatting!

10:30 PM
My suitemante (who also happens to be an RA) has her monthly mini floor party. Snacks, drinks, and mingling- always fun.

11:30 PM – 12:30 AM 

Homework/Catching up on the latest Gossip Girl episode

1:00AM

ZZzzzz….

Until next time! Lauren Davis (Integrated Design, BFA)

About Lauren

Hey all! I am currently a junior at Parsons in the Integrated Design fashion program. You can usually find me creating or making things, I love a great D.I.Y. Other favorite activities of mine include thrifting, consuming frozen yogurt, dancing and discovering new music!

5 comments

  1. Molly

    This is my DREAM. my application is all done, I realllllly hope I get in.

  2. Molly

    I would live to read more of these.

  3. Molly

    Oh and you guys have all my stuff! All that’s missing is my acceptance 🙂

  4. Hi Molly, glad you’re enjoying the blog. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

