A Student’s Desk is a Sheer Mess

Doing art work and sleeping in New York City are probably the two hardest things to find space for. Currently, I live in an apartment in the East Village that has two bedrooms  and a small living area that I share with my roommate. The East Village is a great location though, for Manhattan. It’s close to everything and has some great eats, like my personal favorite, Polish food. But it is old tenement housing (you know those cute streets that you always think of when you think of cool New York), and with old housing comes smaller space.

Now I can hardly call my bedroom a bedroom. I prefer to say it is my studio with a bed in it. Literally there are nights when I just don’t have enough room and have to shamelessly, actually work in my bed – I have recently drawn the line at painting in bed, so I do have some restrictions (this was after the Great Ink Spill of 2011). But you’ll see when you live here; sometimes you have to get creative with your space and see what you can do or look for alternative spaces. I will openly admit I am not the most organized of people, especially when I work. Things are a mess, as you can see from the photo. Yet everything is at my fingertips. If it wasn’t, I can guarantee I wouldn’t do as much work as I do (that whole idea of getting up to get something is an example of my utter laziness).  I also try to put up  some pictures of things that inspire me or that I miss: Tom Cruise in Top Gun, prayer beads from Mexico, a picture of France, found vintage photos and a card from the Brooklyn Comic Show.  I should put up more things but, once again, that laziness keeps popping up.

Parsons also has plenty of space to work on weekends and during the weekdays. When I know I will be working on something for 10 hours and I need some space, I usually hop on my bike and pop on over to school. I always commandeer my own classroom and start playing some loud jams or watch terrible 90’s T.V (yes, like Dawson’s Creek, let’s not judge). Usually during finals I set up house at school. Studios are open twenty four hours and it becomes like a twenty four hour party. Everyone is at school either in the computer lab or the studios eating terrible things or sleeping on model stands. It’s super fun, in the most horrendous way possible. It is, of course, always great to paint at home; you can have your blanket, your tea and the ability to obliviously dress like a full-on homeless person. But it’s nice to have the option to break away from home and maybe oil paint in a place that has ventilation like Parsons. I guess the less the toxins you breathe in from turpentine the longer you live? Eh, maybe.

About Katie

Hi there y'all! My name is Katie and I am an Admissions Counselor here at Parsons. I am a recent graduate of Parsons, I majored in illustration and I am currently getting my Associates degree in Graphic Design. When I'm not at Parsons, I am a avid baseball watcher, park sitter, book lover and an aspiring hoarder.

3 comments

  1. What a great post. So enjoyed reading this! I’m a student in South Africa who has long-winded day dreams about attending Parsons.

  2. katie gross

    Thanks so much for your comment! I hope one day you get to fulfill your dream and that your desk will always be clean and tidy, unlike mine!

  3. riadhingra

    All this sounds SO cool! I’m in high school right now, senior year. Applying to parsons for BFA in photography. I SO wish I get in! I have an exploring parsons tour on 25th may 😀 cant waitttt. Coming all the way from India hahaa 😀 OH & I lovvvvve your posts!

Leave a Reply

