Best Coffee Around Parsons Campus

As a current Parsons senior, coffee is not just a hot beverage; it is my constant companion, the one thing I wake up for and the light at the end of tunnel. As you all become Parsons students, you’ll learn this and embrace this life giving liquid.

But lets get serious, coffee around campus? Good or absolutely the sludge of the earth? Well, lets break it down into some choices.

Image

Anytime you have a five minute break in between classes, or are just in a rush trying to get to 2 West, Valentino’s is, of course, the quickest and easiest option. You can’t beat the $1.75 large cup of  coffee, yet the taste is a taste one needs to acquire or just come to terms with. Not the best, not even great, just watery deli coffee.

Image

For all you cool cats that appreciate ‘the art of coffee’, Joe’s is the place on campus for you. Its about a half a block away from Parsons and has pretty reasonable prices: $2.50 for a medium. They also do all that specialty stuff that  artsy people like, you know like the things you can’t pronounce with beautiful foam. Joe’s is the best cup of coffee during finals though, it really gives you a jolt-its worth the extra half a block and 75 cents.

Image

Literally right across the street from Parsons is the home away from home, Mapi. The coffee is simple, its mostly just Café Bustelo though certain specialties are offered, but it’s cheap and dependable. The best part is Mr. Mapi (this isn’t really his name I just call him this), who is there day in and day out and is the kindest man in the world. He always calls me “sweetheart,” and if I don’t have a quarter he’ll let me pay the next time. The only (and I mean only) downside to Mapi, is that it does get super crowded in between classes, and it’s cash only.

Image

It has taken me four years to finally go in, but I have found the deli coffee of a girl’s dream. Unlike every other deli in the world that serves French vanilla and hazelnut flavors, this deli explores it flavors such as southern pecan and special Christmas blends. But my all time favorite, and the ultimate pick me up is the chocolate raspberry. Delicious deli coffee that is perfect for those afternoon drawing classes even though it’s a full block away from Parsons.

This is Katie signing off, wishing you the coffee best!

About Katie

Hi there y'all! My name is Katie and I am an Admissions Counselor here at Parsons. I am a recent graduate of Parsons, I majored in illustration and I am currently getting my Associates degree in Graphic Design. When I'm not at Parsons, I am a avid baseball watcher, park sitter, book lover and an aspiring hoarder.

One comment

  1. Pingback: A Five Borough Tour in Twelve Hours. Beat that. | PARSONS ADMISSION

Leave a Reply

